top of page

Prospecting In New Brunswick

It all started with a simple afternoon trip to try prospecting the Cariboo moutain range of British Columbia. After finally agreeing to join a friend on a weekend sluicing trip, I was hooked. Inevitably I decided to return home to New Brunswick a few months down the road and continued my interest in Mineral Prospecting, Particularly Gold Prospecting. At the time I had no idea what I was looking for or where to find it. Everything shiny looked valuable and everything valuable looked dull. After several years of educating myself and studying government databases I find myself getting into the good stuff. Assays are returning with promising results and any time I need a boost of inspiration I can go pan gold on my own claim.

Prospecting in New Brunswick offers a wide variety of challenges. One of which I think is overburden. Outcrops in the province are somewhat plentiful, but in some of our oldest most geologically diverse areas, we are hindered by overburden. I've currently been testing some theories regarding placer gold deposition in valleys beneath meteres of overburden. Mother nature has been helping a bit with all of the rainfall we have had but other than that I'm a man with a shovel and no money for equipment.

All in all I enjoy prospecting in my province and hope to make it a living some day. Gold is obviously every prospectors dream but I find all minerals equally as interesting. Sometimes you just need a crazy theory and determination to carry it out. If you are lucky, you will strike gold or a mass quantity of another mineral. If not, you learned something. All of the prospecting knowledge out there can't tell you where the gold is or where you will find the next big deposit of nickle. But If you don't get out there an look, you will never find it. A famous saying "Gold is where you find it" well I think this applies to most minerals in saying "Minerals are where you find them".

Until Next time.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page